Chamber music > Chamber music with winds

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Serenade E flat major K. 375 for 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Horns and 2 Bassoons

Editor: Henrik Wiese

27.50 €

Urtext Edition, Parts, paperbound
with parts for Horn in E flat and F

Pages: 80 (V, 10, 7, 7, 7, 7, 7, 8, 8, 7, 7), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 796 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0796-6

What might have occasioned Mozart to rework his original Serenade for sextet into a version for octet (with two oboes) only a few months after he had completed it? Was there an “external” cause? Once Joseph II had founded an “imperial wind ensemble” in April 1782, octet music was in great demand. The ensemble with two oboes, two clarinets, two horns and two bassoons had to play on all manner of occasions. As we can gather from one of Mozart’s letters, he therefore conjured up a “Night Musique” within a very short period of time. It is very probable that it was this arrangement.

Audio example: Bläservereinigung der Wiener Philharmoniker
Deutsche Grammophon 028947752226GB7


« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »