Élégie op. 24 for Violoncello and Piano

Editor: Jean-Christophe Monnier
Fingering: Pascal Rogé
Fing. vc: David Geringas

8.00 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound
with marked and unmarked string part

Pages: 18 (IV, 8, 3, 3), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 563 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0563-4

Following the enthusiastic reception of his first Violin Sonata (HN 980), it was clear to Fauré that he would continue to write chamber music. In 1880 he wrote a little piece for cello and piano that was intended as the slow movement for a sonata. However, Fauré gave up the sonata project, instead publishing the piece under the title “Élégie”. It was so successful that Fauré was urged by the publisher to write further pieces. The conductor Édouard Colonne commissioned a version of the “Élégie” for orchestra in 1895, which was premièred two years later. As usual, our Urtext edition contains both a marked and an unmarked solo part.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »