Chamber music > String Quartets

Bedrich Smetana

From My Life - String Quartet no. 1 e minor

Editor: Milan Pospísil

20.50 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound

Pages: 73 (VII, 25, 13, 13, 15), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 814 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0814-7

When Smetana completed his Quartet in e minor in dark and dismal colours in 1876, he had already been completely deaf for two years. Which musician is not familiar with the fateful passage in the fourth movement, in which Smetana symbolizes the beginning of his illness with a violin note in an extremely high position? The previous movements tell of happier times in his life; an extensive extract from a letter about this is cited in the preface to our edition. Smetana, who at the time received a ridiculously small fee from his publisher, could not foresee that this work would later be considered one of the most famous string quartets of all time.

Audio example: Amadeus Quartet
Deutsche Grammophon 028943725125GGA


« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »