Keyboard instruments > Piano, 4-hands

Ludwig van Beethoven

Grand Fugue op. 134 for Piano Four-hands

Editor: Ernst Herttrich
Fingering: Andreas Groethuysen

15.00 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound
revised edition
replaces HN 271

Pages: 44 (VII, 37), Size 31,0 x 23,5 cm
Order no. HN 954 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0954-0

In his late work Beethoven devoted himself intensively to the forms of baroque polyphony. He originally composed the “Große Fuge” as the final movement of the String Quartet in Bb major op. 130. However, according to one critic, the listeners of the time considered it to be “unintelligible, like Chinese”. At the urging of his publisher, Beethoven then replaced it with a newly composed closing movement for the quartet. In addition he also made a version of the “Große Fuge” for piano four-hands. The autograph of this arrangement was recently rediscovered. Courtesy of the Juillard School of Music we were able to consult it for the first time for our new critical edition.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »