Keyboard instruments > Piano solo

Alexander Scriabin

Piano Sonata no. 5 op. 53

Editor: Valentina Rubcova
Fingering: Michael Schneidt

15.00 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound

Pages: 38 (IX, 29)
Order no. HN 1111 · ISMN 979-0-2018-1111-6

Level of difficulty (Piano): difficult (Level 8/9)

"A great poem for the piano" was how Scriabin described his fifth piano sonata. It was indeed composed at the same time as his great poem for orchestra "Le Poème de l’extase", and both works are based on the same literary programme. Scriabin spent a long time honing the text, which represents his philosophic idea of the development of the world in poetic form, until its publication in a separate volume in 1906. About a year later Scriabin announced that he had completed his fifth sonata, stating "and I consider it to be the best of my works for piano. I do not know myself what kind of a miracle has happened". This landmark for piano continues our series of Urtext editions of Scriabin’s piano works.

Audio example: Roberto Szidon
Deutsche Grammophon 028947704928GTR3


« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »