Keyboard instruments > Piano solo

Alexander Scriabin

Piano Sonata no. 8 op. 66

Editor: Valentina Rubcova
Fingering: Michael Schneidt

16.50 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound

Pages: 37 (V, 32), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 354 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0354-8

Level of difficulty (Piano): difficult (Level 9)

In his last years, Skryabin realized a noble and great idea. Inspired by his study of theosophical writings, he dreamed of joining music, poetry, mime, architecture, light, colour and even aromas to create a “Gesamtkunstwerk”, and thus elevate human beings to a higher level of consciousness. This “Mysterium” was never completed, but his late piano sonatas – conceived as preliminary studies – enable us to see what moved Skryabin. He spent a particularly long time working on his eighth sonata and proofread it intensively; but later quite a few mistakes still found their way into it. Thanks to the autograph and the first edition, ambiguous passages have now been cleared up and corrected in our Urtext edition.

Audio example: Roberto Szidon
Deutsche Grammophon 028947704928GTR3


« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »