Keyboard instruments > Piano solo

Alexander Scriabin

Piano Sonata no. 9 op. 68

Editor: Valentina Rubcova
Fingering: Michael Schneidt

11.00 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound

Pages: 23 (V, 18), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 855 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0855-0

Level of difficulty (Piano): difficult (Level 9)

Skrjabin’s 9th Sonata is often referred to as the “Black Mass”. Unlike the 7th Sonata, the so-called “White Mass”, this name did not stem from the composer. He writes: “In the ninth sonata I came closer than ever before to the Satanic ...”. The mystic-dark sphere fascinated Skrjabin. Anyone who listens to this bizarre work will involuntarily become caught up in the diabolical vortex – the music heads towards the sonata’s dramatic conclusion as if being pulled in an undertow. The highly expressive work was given its first performance by the composer himself. Following its first publication he revised it, and this new edition was the primary source for our edition.

Audio example: Roberto Szidon
Deutsche Grammophon 028947704928GTR3


« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »