Chamber music > Piano Trios

Johannes Brahms

Piano Trios

Editor: Ernst Herttrich
Fingering: Hans-Martin Theopold

59.50 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound

Pages: 305 (VI, 209, 47, 43), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 245 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0245-9

Piano trios belong among the great genres of Classical chamber music, and Brahms , too, turned his attention to this genre early on. He wrote his opus 8 in fall and winter 1853/54, thus at the age of 20. The two other piano trios were created 28 years later, namely op. 87 in C major, and 32 years later, op. 101 in c minor. Brahms was working on another Trio, in E flat major, at the same time that he was working on the C major Trio; however, it seems to have been destroyed. He returned to his first piano trio in 1889 and revised it so thoroughly that he wrote to Clara Schumann: “I have re-written my B major trio.” The Henle Urtext edition reproduces the second version of the Trio op. 8 (published in 1891) first, then follows this up with a reprint of the first version in its Appendix.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »


  • Trio (final version) B major op. 8
  • Trio C major op. 87
  • Trio c minor op. 101
  • Appendix: Trio (early version) B major op. 8