Keyboard instruments > Piano solo

Robert Schumann

Piano Sonata f minor op. 14 with Early Version: Concert sans Orchestre

Editor: Ernst Herttrich
Fingering: Hans-Martin Theopold

29.50 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound

Pages: 139 (VIII, 63, VIII, 60), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 346 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0346-3

Level of difficulty (Piano): difficult (Level 8)

As is the case with quite a few of his works, there are two versions of Schumann’s opus 14 – a three-movement “Concert sans Orchestre” from 1836 and a “Grande Sonate” in five movements from 1853. We do not know the reason for the revision; the publisher of the first version was, however, delighted; he considered the “idea of the concerto” to be very up-to-date. Perhaps Schumann later reacted to what the dedicatee Ignaz Moscheles had said that the piece had “less of the demands of a concerto and more the characteristics of a grand sonata”. In our revised edition, which now also contains the complete early version, the editor Ernst Herttrich provides detailed information on both versions in an extensive preface and commentary.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »