Keyboard instruments > Piano solo

Alexander Scriabin

Piano Sonata no. 7 op. 64

Editor: Valentina Rubcova
Fingering: Michael Schneidt

15.00 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound

Pages: 31 (V, 26), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 747 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0747-8

Level of difficulty (Piano): difficult (Level 9)

Skrjabin called his seventh sonata “White Mass”, drawing attention to the mystical basis that is stamped on all his late works, including this one. He attempts here to translate into sound his ideal of a “mystery” – a “Gesamtkunstwerk” of artistic, theological and philosophical ideas. Its aim, as stated in his own words, is the raising up of the human spirit. No longer is the formal scaffolding of the work based principally around that of sonata form, but around the idea of “evolutionary development from chaos to ecstasy”. Our edition is the first to be based on the autograph, which is today in a private collection in the USA.

Audio example: Roberto Szidon
Deutsche Grammophon 028947704928GTR3


« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »