Chamber music > Chamber music with winds

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sextet E flat major op. 81b

Editor: Egon Voss

24.00 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound
With parts for Horn in E flat and F, and parts for Violoncello and Double Bass

Pages: 63 (III, 11, 7, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 955 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0955-7

It is hardly surprising that Beethoven did not write any more chamber music for winds after 1800. Following the change to middle-class musical culture, demand declined for buoyant serenades and divertimenti intended for court circles – a genre that Beethoven had reservations about as it was. Composed in 1795 with no known occasion in mind, his Sextet op. 81b is thus all the more remarkable, standing out on account of the unusual virtuosity of the horn parts. Our edition is the first to provide the bass part as originally intended by Beethoven: for violoncello supported by a double bass. In addition to the original horn parts in E flat, it also contains transposed parts in F.

Read more about this edition in the Henle Blog.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »