String instruments > Violin solo

Johann Sebastian Bach

Sonatas and Partitas BWV 1001-1006 for Violin solo

Editor: Klaus Rönnau
Fing. vn: Wolfgang Schneiderhan

25.00 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound
with marked and unmarked string parts

Pages: 141 (V, 63, V, 68), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 356 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0356-2

Bach’s six violin soli have come down to us in a particularly beautiful fair copy made by the composer himself. They, along with the six cello suites, are regarded as musical and technical milestones of musical literature. Bach skillfully employs the resources of the violin to produce genuine polyphony in some sections through the use of arpeggiated chords and double stops. The culmination of these achievements is the famous Chaconne from the second Partita, which achieves great musical density while presenting the violinist with previously unheard-of technical challenges.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »