Keyboard instruments > Piano solo

Johannes Brahms

Sonatas, Scherzo and Ballades

Editor: Walter Georgii
Fingering: Walter Georgii

28.50 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound

Pages: 127 (IV, 123), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 38 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0038-7

Brahms‘ first piano works deal with the classical form of the sonata. The Scherzo op. 4 belongs to this context inasmuch as it can be considered as an independent sonata movement. However, with the melody of the Old German Minnelied “Verstohlen geht der Mond auf” used for the slow movement of the first sonata, and the lines from a poem by Sternau that preface the second movement of the Sonata op. 5, Brahms also proclaims his allegiance to Romanticism. The push-and-pull between Classicism and Romanticism then becomes clearly audible in the opp. 1, 2, 4 and 5. – In contrast, the Ballades op. 10, written just barely a year after the Sonata op.5, are thorougly romantic piano pieces. The best known is certainly no. 1, based on the Scottish ballad Edward from Herder’s “Stimmen der Völker.”


« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »