Violin Concerto

Editor: Michael Kube
Piano reduction: Jan Philip Schulze
Fing. vn: Frank Peter Zimmermann

29.00 €

Urtext Edition, Piano reduction, paperbound
with marked and unmarked string parts, orchestral material available from Breitkopf & Härtel

Pages: 111 (XII, 59, 20, 20), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 821 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0821-5

Level of difficulty (Violin): difficult (Level 9)


The genesis of Berg’s Violin Concerto in 1935 is shrouded in tragedy. He had only just finished making the first sketches when Manon Gropius – the daughter of Walter Gropius and Alma Mahler, with whom Berg was friends – died of polio. He dedicated the concerto “To the memory of an angel” in her memory. Then Alban Berg died in 1935, so he no longer lived to see it printed or performed. Our edition – violin part and piano reduction – follow the score edited by Michael Kube, which is being published simultaneously by Breitkopf & Härtel together with the orchestral parts and pocket score. The illustrious violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann has provided fingerings and bowings for the violin part. This edition is worldwide available.


« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »