Keyboard instruments > Piano solo

Johannes Brahms

Sonatas, Scherzo and Ballades

編集者: Walter Georgii
指使い: Walter Georgii

28.50 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound

ページ: 127 (IV, 123), 大きさ 23,5 x 31,0 cm
注文番号 HN 38 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0038-7

Brahms‘ first piano works deal with the classical form of the sonata. The Scherzo op. 4 belongs to this context inasmuch as it can be considered as an independent sonata movement. However, with the melody of the Old German Minnelied “Verstohlen geht der Mond auf” used for the slow movement of the first sonata, and the lines from a poem by Sternau that preface the second movement of the Sonata op. 5, Brahms also proclaims his allegiance to Romanticism. The push-and-pull between Classicism and Romanticism then becomes clearly audible in the opp. 1, 2, 4 and 5. – In contrast, the Ballades op. 10, written just barely a year after the Sonata op.5, are thorougly romantic piano pieces. The best known is certainly no. 1, based on the Scottish ballad Edward from Herder’s “Stimmen der Völker.”


« Back他の出版社での購入 »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »