Richard Strauss at G. Henle Verlag

The last great Romantic of the twentieth century, Richard Strauss, is one of the most performed composers in the world to this day. However, his artistic standing often contrasts starkly with the flawed quality of the musical texts that has been available up to now.


We will now present the most important concertante and chamber music works in reliable Urtext quality – in many cases for the first time ever. Outstanding artists and performers of Strauss are lending us their support for this exciting project.

Urtext Editions

Richard Strauss

Piano Sonata b minor op. 5

校訂: Peter Jost
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1467

Michael Schäfer (Fingering)

11.00 €在庫あり

Richard Strauss

Eight Poems op. 10

校訂: Annette Oppermann
Urtext Edition, High Voice, paperbound
HN 1458

17.50 €在庫あり

Richard Strauss

Oboe Concerto D major

校訂: Hansjörg Schellenberger
Urtext Edition, Piano reduction, paperbound
HN 1248

Johannes Umbreit (Piano reduction)

24.00 €在庫あり

Richard Strauss

Horn Concerto no. 1 E flat major op. 11

校訂: Peter Damm
Urtext Edition, Piano reduction, paperbound
HN 1253

Johannes Umbreit (Piano reduction)

20.00 €在庫あり

Richard Strauss

Horn Concerto no. 2 E flat major

校訂: Hans Pizka
Urtext Edition, Piano reduction, paperbound
HN 1255

Johannes Umbreit (Piano reduction)

23.00 €在庫あり

Richard Strauss

Andante C major for Horn and Piano

校訂: Dominik Rahmer
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1332

Klaus Schilde (Fingering)

12.00 €在庫あり

Richard Strauss

Serenade for Wind Instruments E flat major op. 7

校訂: Norbert Gertsch
Urtext Edition, Study score (pocket score), paperbound
HN 7261

17.00 €在庫あり

Richard Strauss

Violin Sonata E flat major op. 18

校訂: Ulrich Krämer
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1298

Michael Korstick (Fingering)

Arabella Steinbacher (Fingering and bowing for Violin)

30.00 €在庫あり

Richard Strauss

Violoncello Romance F major

校訂: Peter Jost
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1468

Richard Strauss (Piano reduction)

Daniel Müller-Schott (Fingering and bowing for Violoncello)

12.00 €在庫あり

Richard Strauss

Violoncello Sonata F major op. 6

校訂: Peter Jost
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1469

Michael Korstick (Fingering)

Johannes Moser (Fingering and bowing for Violoncello)

25.00 €在庫あり

What musicians say about...

Horn Concerto no. 1 E flat major op. 11

“This new edition of Strauss’ first horn concerto is really superb! I greatly admire Professor Peter Damm, and his preface is of great interest to and important for all horn players in the world.”


Radek Baborák

Radek Baborak

"This edition really convinces me! Peter Damm’s instructive preface, the intelligent page-turns, and, last but not least, the exceptional printing quality. This edition should be included in every horn player’s library."


Bruno Schneider
Musikhochschule Freiburg im Breisgau (Germany), Professor of French Horn

Horn Concerto no. 2 in E flat major

"Finally! 70 years after publication of the first edition of Richard Strauss’ second Horn Concerto, the meticulously edited new edition by Henle, which has consulted all of the sources, clears up numerous errors in the musical text. A number of printing errors and wrong musical terms have been corrected and misleading amendments by the editor have also been removed. Moreover, the new edition far surpasses the old one as far as its clear layout and the clarity of the printing are concerned. And the fact that there will also soon be new orchestral material to accompany it is extremely welcome. Without a doubt, this is a real prize for all horn players, conductors and Strauss lovers!"


Constantin Trinks

Oboe Concerto D major

"This is a beautiful edition, complete in every way. The introduction by Mr. Schellenberger narrates in colorful detail the well-known story of its origins and the subsequent alterations by the composer. The mistakes and inconsistencies have been repaired and meticulously foot-noted with sources. The new piano reduction has removed some of the difficulties of the past, and the elegant font on cream-colored paper is a pleasure to read. This is the definitive version we have needed."


Elaine Douvas
Met Opera, Principal Oboe
Juilliard School, Oboe Instructor and Woodwind Dept. Chairman

"We oboists urgently needed a new edition of Strauss' oboe concerto. How wonderful that it has now been published by Henle!"


Juliana Koch
London Symphony Orchestra, Principal Oboe
Royal College of Music, Professor of Oboe

Photo gallery

Editors and their team at G. Henle Publishers. On the left: Editor-in-chief Dr. Norbert Müllemann and Prof. Hansjörg Schellenberger (editor of Strauss' oboe concerto) together with Henle's managing director Dr. Wolf-Dieter Seiffert. On the right: Prof. Peter Damm (editor of Strauss horn concerto no. 1) together with Henle editor Dr. Dominik Rahmer.


February 27th, 2020. High-ranking visitors to our publishing house in Munich!
We have been very happy to have the two world-class oboists Juliana Koch and Hansjörg Schellenberger with us. Supported by a professional camera team we produced a short video about our new and therefore only Urtext edition of Richard Strauss' oboe concerto, edited by Hansjörg Schellenberger.




Have a look at the short version of the video showing oboists Juliana Koch and Hansjörg Schellenberger talking about our edition of Strauss’ oboe concerto! For the video in its full length please visit the detail page of the edition.