Search shop

About us - Contributors

Georg Feder

Prof. Dr. Georg Feder was born on 30.11.1927 in Bochum and died on 11.12.2006 in Cologne. He studied composition in Bochum and was the head of stage music at the theatre there from 1947 to 1949. From 1949 he read musicology, philosophy and history in Tübingen, Göttingen and Kiel. He was awarded his doctorate in 1955 with a thesis on Arrangements of Bach’s works.

From 1957 to 1992 Feder worked at the Joseph Haydn-Institut, and was Head of Research there for thirty years. One of the foremost Haydn scholars of his time and an undisputed authority in the field of music philology, he greatly shaped the work of the Institute, especially its work on the Haydn Complete Edition, making a significant contribution towards its global reputation.

54 volumes of the Complete Edition were published under his direction, eight of which he himself worked on as editor or co-editor. In addition, he edited several Urtext editions following the text in the Complete Edition for G. Henle Publishers, including Haydn’s Piano Sonatas (also an edition with selected sonatas and a study edition) as well as several volumes of string quartets (individual parts and study scores). In 1965 Feder launched the Haydn Studies as a second series published by the Joseph Haydn-Institut, publishing several important essays on the transmission of Haydn’s work in the series.

Joseph Haydn

String Quartets Book VIII op. 64 (Second Tost Quartets)

Editor: Georg Feder, Isidor Saslav, Warren Kirkendale
Urtext Edition, Study score (pocket score), paperbound
HN 9212

35.95 $available