Search shop

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Piano Trio no. 1 d minor op. 49

András Adorján (Editor)

Urtext Edition, Additional Flute Part, paperbound

additional part for HN 1531

Pages 19 (VI+13), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm

Weight 100 g

HN 1297 · ISMN 979-0-2018-1297-7

7.95 $
plus shipping costs

additional part for HN 1531


  • Piano Trio d minor op. 49


Look for »Mendelssohn Bartholdy Piano Trio no. 1 d minor op. 49«


It was probably due more to marketing considerations than to any artistic de‑ sire that one of the main works of the chamber music repertoire was also ar‑ ranged for flute by the composer. When Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809 – 47) wanted to have his Piano Trio no. 1 in d minor op. 49 published by J. J. ­Ewer & Co. in England, the owner of the publishing house, … more

Open Preface (PDF)

About the composer

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

A German composer, conductor, pianist, and organist who already numbered among the most important composers in Europe during his lifetime. While still young he found a unique tonal language. Reflected in his oeuvre, which spans all genres, are the contradictory tendencies of the age – Classicism and Romanticism. His endeavors over the course his life to perform the works of Johann Sebastian Bach led to a “rediscovery” of that composer which continues unabated. His intensive engagement with Bach and his counterpoint influenced his own compositional technique.

1809Born into a wealthy banker’s family in Hamburg on February 3. Escape to Berlin with his parents in 1811. First musical instruction from his mother.
1819He becomes a pupil of Carl Friedrich Zelter.
1820Joins the Sing-Akademie in Berlin.
1821–23Twelve sinfonias for strings.
1825String Octet in E-flat major, Op. 20.
1826Overture to “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” Op. 21
1827Begins studies at the University of Berlin.
1829Revival of Bach’s St. Matthew Passion in Berlin on March 11 and 21. Travels to England and Scotland.
1829–30“Reformation” Symphony in D minor, [Op. 107], with inclusion of the choral “Ein feste Burg“ (A Mighty Fortress Is Our God.)
1830–32Extended travels, including to Italy and France. Piano Concerto in G minor, Op. 25; Overture in B minor, Op. 26, “The Hebrides, or Fingal’s Cave” (1829–30).
1833Music director in Düsseldorf. “Italian” Symphony in A major, Op. 90 (1830–33).
1835Director of the Gewandhaus concerts in Leipzig.
1836Premiere in Düsseldorf of his oratorio “St. Paul: Oratorio on Words of the Holy Bible,” Op. 36.
1838-44Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64.
1840Composition of “Hymn of Praise, a Symphony-Cantata on Words of the Holy Bible,” Op. 52.
1841Berlin, in the service of the Prussian king. “Variations sérieuses” in D minor, Op. 54, for piano.
1842Completion of Symphony No. 3 (“Scottish”) in A minor, Op. 56, with a songlike opening.
1843Incidental music to Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” Op. 61. Director of the newly founded Leipzig Conservatory.
1846Premiere of his oratorio “Elijah,” Op. 70, in Birmingham.
1847String Quartet in F minor, [Op. 80]. Death in Leipzig on November 4.

© 2003, 2010 Philipp Reclam jun. GmbH & Co. KG, Stuttgart

… more

About the authors

András Adorján

András Adorján (Editor)

András Adorján was born in Budapest, grew up in Denmark  and has since 1974 been living in Munich. Dentist diploma in Copenhagen 1968. Flute studies with Aurèle Nicolet and Jean-Pierre Rampal. Laureat of international flute competitions and principal flutist of important european orchestras.

From 1987 professor in Cologne, since 1996 in Munich. With more than 100 recordings and as editor of a unique and extensive encyclopedia „Lexikon der Flöte“ he is today one of the most prominent flutists of his generation.

… more

Die für Flöte angeglichene Stimme weist Mendelssohn als genialen Bearbeiter und großen Kenner der flötenspezifischen Notwendigkeiten aus. (...) Die Henle-Ausgabe besticht durch ein schönes Notenbild und gute Wendestellen, Bogensetzung, Artikulation und dynamische Bezeichnungen entsprechen denen der Violinstimme. Die Einzelstimme kann mit der revidierten Edition des Trios HN 957 verwendet werden. [Tibia, 2017]