String instruments > Viola and Piano

Franz Anton Hoffmeister

Viola Concerto D major

Editor: Julia Ronge, Norbert Gertsch
Piano reduction: Johannes Umbreit
Fing. va: Kim Kashkashian
Cadenzas: Robert D. Levin

23.95 $

Urtext Edition, Piano reduction, paperbound
with marked and unmarked string parts

Pages: 58 (VIII, 23, 11, 16), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 739 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0739-3

Along with the Stamitz concerto, Hoffmeister‘s Viola Concerto is the most important audition piece for viola players. Yet, it has been handed down in a complicated source tradition, surviving in a single contemporary manuscript covered with many layers of markings. Our piano reduction reconstructs, for the first time, the earliest textual layer in this source, thereby coming as close as possible to Hoffmeister‘s actual intentions. The reconstructed original is accompanied by a detailed critical commentary. Fingering and bowing marks have been added by no less a musician than Kim Kashkashian!

Read more about this edition in the Henle Blog.

« BackOrder this item now directly via our partner Hal Leonard»
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »