Chamber music > String Quartets

Ludwig van Beethoven

String Quartets op. 59, 74, 95

Editor: Paul Mies
Preface: Ernst Herttrich

41.95 $

Urtext Edition, Study score, paperbound

Pages: 149 (X, 149), Size 17,0 x 24,0 cm
Order no. HN 9268 · ISMN 979-0-2018-9268-9

The five string quartets in this volume are generally designated as Beethoven’s “middle quartets,” even though stylistically they do not all build a closed unit. More than three years lie between the inception of the three quartets op. 59 (1806) and the quartet op. 74 (1809/10). In the quartets op. 59, Beethoven sprinkled several Russian folksong themes – an homage to Prince Razumovsky, who had commissioned the works.This is why the pieces are often called the “Russian Quartets.” The next quartet, op. 74 in E flat major, was also given a nickname: thanks to extended pizzicato passages in the first movement, it is frequently called the “Harp Quartet”. The f minor Quartet op. 95, in turn, bears in the autograph title “Quartett serioso.” All five quartets are mature masterworks which demand high interpretative and technical mastery.

« BackOrder this item now directly via our partner Hal Leonard»
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »


  • String Quartet (Rasumowsky) F major op. 59,1
  • String Quartet (Rasumowsky) e minor op. 59,2
  • String Quartet (Rasumowsky) C major op. 59,3
  • String Quartet (Harp Quartet) E flat major op. 74
  • String Quartet f minor op. 95