String Quartets Book II op. 9

Editor: Georg Feder

61.95 $

Urtext Edition, paperbound

Pages: 125 (V, 37, 27, 27, 29)
Order no. HN 206 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0206-0

Six works belong to opus 9 – the first group of Haydn’s string quartets of which we know. The composer also went new ways as far as form was concerned: whereas he had still adhered to the five movement divertimento in the previous quartets opus 1 and 2, in this case he favoured four movements, something he continued in the future. Apart from this, he also expanded the register and experimented with metric surprises (for instance in the trio of the minuet from the G major quartet).

« BackOrder this item now directly via our partner Hal Leonard»
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »


  • String Quartet C major op. 9,1 Hob. III:19
  • String Quartet E flat major op. 9,2 Hob. III:20
  • String Quartet G major op. 9,3 Hob. III:21
  • String Quartet d minor op. 9,4 Hob. III:22
  • String Quartet B flat major op. 9,5 Hob. III:23
  • String Quartet A major op. 9,6 Hob. III:24