String instruments > Violin and Piano

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Violin Concerto e minor op. 64

Editor: Ullrich Scheideler
Piano reduction: Johannes Umbreit
Fing. vn: Igor Ozim

33.95 $

Urtext Edition, Piano reduction, paperbound
with marked and unmarked string parts

Pages: 92 (VII, 53, 16, 16), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 720 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0720-1

Level of difficulty (Violin): difficult (Level 8)

For the first time this celebrated concerto will now appear in a source-critical edition. Ullrich Scheideler depicts how the work evolved, describes its sources, and comments on the musical text. The well-known violinist Igor Ozim has marked up Mendelssohn’s approved violin part, adding fingering and bowing marks as an aid to today’s performers. He has also supplied a separate commentary showing that Mendelssohn’s autograph already contains useful suggestions for shaping the solo part. The piano reduction – a revised version of the one that accompanied the first edition – lies well under the fingers while remaining as faithful as possible to the original text.

« BackOrder this item now directly via our partner Hal Leonard»
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »