Silent Woods op. 68 no. 5

Editor: Milan Pospísil
Fingering: Klaus Schilde
Fing. vc: Reiner Ginzel

16.95 $

Urtext Edition, paperbound
with marked and unmarked string parts

Pages: 20 (VI, 8, 3, 3), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 621 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0621-1

Dvořák had previously written solo music for Hanus Wihan, later the dedicatee of his cello concerto. When he was planning a trio concert tour for 1892 with Wihan and violinist Ferdinand Lachner and needed further works for cello and piano, he reworked “Silent Woods” for cello and piano during the Christmas holidays of 1891. Originally a four-hand piano piece from his cycle “From the Bohemian Forest”, the cantabile character piece became a popular recital item owing to its sonorous cello sound. Dvořák later arranged it as an effective concert piece for violoncello and orchestra. The first edition of 1894 is the basis for editor and Dvořák specialist Milan Pospíšil’s Urtext edition for violoncello and piano.

« BackOrder this item now directly via our partner Hal Leonard»
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »