Keyboard instruments > 2 Pianos, 4-hands

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Works for two Pianos

Editor: Wolf-Dieter Seiffert
Fingering: Andreas Groethuysen
Cooperator: Franz Beyer

41.95 $

Urtext Edition, paperbound
two copies needed for performance

Pages: 104 (VI, 98), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 471 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0471-2

The great D major sonata for two pianos, K. 448, is – of course – the absolute showpiece of this Urtext edition. The first movement opens like an operatic overture with timpani and trumpets, the Andante is a single grand melody shared between the two pianos, and the sublime rondo finale comes across like a piano concerto without orchestra. But another important work can be found in this Henle edition too: the earnest C minor fugue for two pianos K. 426, reminiscent of Handel’s or Bach’s great art, here in its original form from 1783. Mozart published it soon after in a four-part version for string quartet, adding a beautiful, freshly composed Adagio introduction. This, in turn, has been rescored in our edition for two pianos by the brilliant musician Franz Beyer, who also has completed a performable version of Mozart’s two-piano “Larghetto and Allegro” in E-flat major (a work not included in Köchel’s catalogue) from the surviving fragments. Two copies are required for performance of all the works in this volume.

« BackOrder this item now directly via our partner Hal Leonard»
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »


  • Piano Sonata D major KV 448
  • Larghetto and Allegro (with a supplementation by F. Beyer) E flat major KV deest
  • Fugue (with Adagio-Introduction K. 546, arranged for 2 Pianos by F. Beyer) c minor KV 426