Search shop:

  • Composer
  • Instrumentation
  • Level of Difficulty
  • Products
Search shop


Horn Concerto E flat major

About the Composer



Johann Baptist Georg Neruda

A composer and violinist of the pre-Classical period. During his lifetime, his works were primarily known in Germany, Bohemia, and Sweden. Among his mainly instrumental compositions, some of which are regarded as lost, are 36 symphonies, ten violin concerti, trio sonatas, and what today is his most popular work, the Concerto for Trumpet, Strings, and Continuo in E-flat major, originally written for French horn.

around 1711Probably born in Rosice. He is educated in violin and cello. He is employed for several years in a theater orchestra in Prague.
from 1741He moves to Dresden and enters the service of Count Frederick August Rutowski.
around 1750He obtains an appointment at the Dresden Hofkapelle (Court Chapel), initially as fourteenth, and then after a few years as fifth, violinist. His sons Ludwig and Anton Friedrich are trained by him in violin and likewise join the Dresden Hofkapelle.
1776Dies in Dresden on October 11.

About the Authors

Dominik Rahmer (Editor)

Dr. Dominik Rahmer, born in 1971 in Mainz, studied musicology, philosophy and maths in Bonn. He did his Magister Artium in 1999 and his doctorate in 2006 with a thesis on the music criticism of Paul Dukas.

From 2001 to 2011 he was employed at Boosey & Hawkes/Bote & Bock in Berlin, where he also worked on the Critical Edition of the Works of Jacques Offenbach (OEK). Since 2011 he has been an editor at G. Henle Publishers in Munich, with a particular focus on French and Russian music and works for wind instruments.

An excellent and very reasonably priced addition to the horn player’s repertoire.

Early Music Review, 2019

Das Konzert für Horn (Trompete) und Streicher Es-Dur ist von Dominik Rahmer als Klavierauszug zuverlässig und genau herausgegeben.

das Orchester, 2019

Über die gute und hohe Qualität der Henle-Ausgaben muss man kein Wort verlieren: beste Lesbarkeit und eine fundierte wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung von Dominik Rahmer mit dem Autograph, welches im Tschechischen Museum der Musik aufbewahrt wird, machen diese Ausgabe zu einem Muss im Notenregal und natürlich auf dem Notenpult!

Sonic, 2020