Search shop:

  • Composer
  • Instrumentation
  • Level of Difficulty
  • Products
Search shop


Difficulty (Explanation)
Other titles of this difficulty
Poème élégiaque op. 12
5 medium
Rêve d'enfant op. 14
4 medium
Extase op. 21
6 medium
Grande Valse op. 3
6 medium
Légende norvégienne
6 medium
Mazurken op. 10

About the Composer


Eugène Ysaÿe

A Belgian violinist, conductor, and composer, whose virtuosic playing, rich in tone color, significantly influences generations of violinists. His late-Romantic compositions, of which only a few survive, comprise instrumental and chamber music works.

1858Born in Liège on July 16. He receives his first violin lessons from his father.
1865–69At the Brussels Conservatory he studies violin with Désiré Heynberg.
from 1869Concert tours with his father take him through Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, and France, where he performs as a prodigy.
1872He continues his studies with Rodolphe Massatt.
from 1874In Brussels he is a pupil of Henri Vieuxtemps and Henryk Wieniawski.
1876–79He follows Vieuxtemps to Paris, where among others he meets César Franck, Anton Rubinstein, and Raoul Pugno.
1879–82He is concertmaster of the Bilse Orchestra in Berlin. He meets Clara Schumann and Joseph Joachim.
1882Together with Rubinstein he sets out on a concert tour through Russia and Scandinavia.
from 1883In Paris he rises to becomes a well-regarded interpreter and frequent dedicatee of all of France’s great composers, including Claude Debussy, Gabriel Fauré, Ernest Chausson, and Camille Saint-Saëns.
1886–97He teaches at the Royal Conservatoire in Brussels and gives concerts regularly, including with Enrique Granados, Ferruccio Busoni, and Sergei Rachmaninoff.
1912Appointed court music director and Grand Officier de l’Ordre de Léopold.
1917–22He emigrates to the United States, leads the Cincinnati Orchestra, and teaches at the conservatory in that city.
1922–30Back in Belgium, he undertakes a few more concert tours.
1931Dies in Brussels on May 12.

About the Authors

Ray Iwazumi (Editor, Fingering and bowing for Violin)

Marie Cornaz (Preface)

Marie Cornaz is the head of the music division at the Royal Library of Belgium and lecturer in musicology at the Université Libre de Bruxelles. After her doctoral dissertation on music publishing in Brussels during the 18th century, she has published on manuscript and printed musical sources kept in Belgian collections and on the history of the musicians in the Low Countries and Belgium between the 17th century and the beginning of the 20th century. She is the author of the following books: L’édition et la diffusion de la musique à Bruxelles au XVIIIe siècle (2001), Les Princes de Chimay et la musique (2002), The Dukes of Arenberg and Music in the Eighteenth Century. The Story of a Music Collection (2015) and À la redécouverte d’Eugène Ysaÿe (2019).