Search shop:

  • Composer
  • Instrumentation
  • Level of Difficulty
  • Products
Search shop


Difficulty (Explanation)
Other titles of this difficulty
Sonata for Violin and Basso Continuo A major (First Edition)
5 medium
Sonata for Violin and Basso Continuo F major (First Edition)
5 medium
Sonata for Violin and Basso Continuo G major
5 medium
Sonata for Violin and Basso Continuo E major
6 medium
Sonata for Violin and Basso Continuo c minor (First Edition)
6 medium
Sonata for Violin and Basso Continuo B flat majeur (First Edition)
5 medium

About the Composer


Franz Benda

A violinist and composer from Bohemia whose his works are stylistically located at the transition from the late Baroque to Classicism. He is among the founders of the German school of violin. His violin playing, shaped by his experiences as a vocalist, was described by contemporaries as extremely expressive. He primarily composed pieces for violin, along with works for orchestra, and chamber music.

1709Born in Staré Benátky on November 22. He received his first music lessons from his father and from cantor Alexius of Nové Benátky.
before 1719Becomes vocalist at the Benedictine monastery at the Church of St. Nicholas in Prague. He attends the Jesuit school.
around 1719He is a choirboy for the Jesuits in Dresden. The city’s active musical life facilitates his acquaintance with important musicians. He receives instruction in violin and viola.
around 1721/22Having returned to Prague, he is a vocalist at the Jesuit Collegium Clementinum.
1726–29He is hired for concert engagements as a violinist in Vienna.
from 1729He serves as concertmaster for Kazimierz Suchaczewski’s chapel in Warsaw.
1732–33Becomes part of the musical establishment of the King and Saxon Prince-Elector Augustus II in Warsaw.
from 1733He enters the service of the Prussian crown prince (later Frederick the Great) in Ruppin and Rheinsberg. He studies composition with Johann Gottlieb Graun and Carl Heinrich Graun.
1740Moves to Potsdam. Other members of the Benda family arrive at the Prussian court to work as musicians.
1771He becomes concertmaster of the Prussian Court Chapel.
1786Dies in Nowawes near Potsdam on March 7.

About the Authors

Sonja Gerlach (Editor, Figured bass realisation)

Sonja Gerlach was born in Hannover in 1936. She did a secondary school teaching degree (Staatsexamen) in music and mathematics in Berlin. From 1965 to 1999 she was a research associate and editor at the Joseph Haydn-Institut in Cologne. In addition to her work as an editor and researcher she addressed questions concerning the chronology of Haydn’s symphonies. She is also very interested in problems of ascertaining authenticity of works in Haydn’s different genres.

In 2000 she retired and moved to Munich where she now lives.