Search shop:

  • Composer
  • Instrumentation
  • Level of Difficulty
  • Products
Search shop


Difficulty (Explanation)
Other titles of this difficulty
Piano Concerto a minor op. 16
7 difficult


Grieg composed his Piano Concerto op. 16 in 1868 in Sölleröd, Denmark, where he sought the advice of the Danish composer and pianist Edmund Neupert, particularly in the shaping of the solo part. He completed the score that winter at his home in Kristiania, Oslo. The première took place as early as 3 April 1869 when Neupert, the work’s dedicatee, played it in Copenhagen. Th... more

About the Composer


Edvard Grieg

Most important Norwegian composer of the nineteenth century and promoter of Norwegian folk music. His lyrical character pieces in particular are well known.

1843Born in Bergen on June 15, the son of a merchant and British consul; early piano lessons with his mother, who was a pianist.
1858–62Studies at the Leipzig Conservatory.
1862Concerts in Norway.
1863Copenhagen, with the support of Niels W. Gade.
from 1864Interest in Norwegian folk music, which finds its way into his compositions.
1866Breakthrough with a concert of Norwegian music. Conductor of the Philharmonic Society.
1867The first of a total of ten volumes of Lyric Pieces for piano, Op. 12, with relatively simple piano settings.
1868/69Composition of the Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16, which is based on Schumann’s piano concerto.
1869“25 Norwegian Folk Melodies and Dances,” Op. 17, for piano.
1873Begins work on the opera “Olav Trygvason,” Op. 50, after Bjørnson, which is never completed.
1874Composition stipend from the state.
1874/75Composition of incidental music to Ibsen’s “Peer Gynt,” Op. 23, the basis for the Peer Gynt Suites.
1876Attends the premiere of Wagner’s “Der Ring des Nibelungen” in Bayreuth.
1880–82Conductor of the “Harmonien” musical society in Bergen. Thereafter he accepted no other positions.
1883Visit to Bayreuth; he hears Wagner’s “Parsifal.”
1884Composition of “From Holberg’s Time,” Op. 40, his most popular work.
from 1885He moves into his villa “Troldhaugen” (near Bergen). Composition and revision of older works in spring and summer, concert tours in fall and winter.
1891Composition of the “Lyric Suite,” Op. 54, orchestrated in 1905.
1907Death in Bergen on September 4.

© 2003, 2010 Philipp Reclam jun. GmbH & Co. KG, Stuttgart

About the Authors

Ernst-Günter Heinemann (Editor)

Dr. Ernst-Günter Heinemann, born in 1945 in Bad Marienberg (Westerwald), completed his schooling in Gießen and read musicology, philosophy and German in Marburg and Frankfurt/Main and also for some time Protestant church music. He did his doctorate on “Franz Liszts geistliche Musik. Zum Konflikt von Kunst und Engagement”.

From 1978–2010 Heinemann worked as an editor at G. Henle Publishers (in 1978 in Duisburg, from 1979 onwards in Munich). He edited a great many Urtext editions for the publishing house, including “Das Wohltemperierte Klavier”, Volume 1 by Bach and all of Debussy’s piano works. In addition, he wrote essays on Debussy, Grieg, Liszt, Mendelssohn and questions concerning general editing, as well as giving seminars on editorial practice for musicology students in Munich.

De nieuwe Urtext van Henle is zeer nauwgezet voorbereid door o.a. Einar Stein-Nökleberg, zelf een vooraanstaand Grieginterpreet ... Het notenbeeld is veruit het overzichtelijkste dat ik ooit van dit concert heb gezien en als bonus zijn ook vingerzettingen van de componist zelf opgenomen. Kortom, het is een feest om te spelen uit deze partituur, zelfs als de piano onstemd is.

Pianowereld, 2004



Robert Schumann Piano Concerto a minor op. 54
Editor: Peter Jost
Piano reduction, Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 660

€27.50 available

€27.50 available
Further editions of this title
Manuel de Falla Nights in the Gardens of Spain for Piano and Orchestra
Piano reduction, Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1450

€26.50 available

€26.50 available
Further editions of this title
Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Concerto no. 4 G major op. 58
Piano reduction, Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 629

€28.00 available

€28.00 available
Further editions of this title