Search shop:

  • Composer
  • Instrumentation
  • Level of Difficulty
  • Products
Search shop


Difficulty (Explanation)
Other titles of this difficulty
24 Capricci op. 1
Capriccio no. 1 E major op. 1
9 difficult
Capriccio no. 2 b minor op. 1
9 difficult
Capriccio no. 3 e minor op. 1
9 difficult
Capriccio no. 4 c minor op. 1
8 difficult
Capriccio no. 5 a minor op. 1
9 difficult


We do not know when Nicolò Paganini (1782–1840) wrote his famous twentyfour Capricci for solo violin. One supposition is that they were written at different intervals during his youth, but this cannot be proved. The autograph contains the date 24. 9bre 1817, but not in Paganini’s hand. The Capriccios did not appear in print until three years later. This was Paganini’s firs... more


About the Composer


Nicolò Paganini

Violin virtuoso and composer of violin music of a unique and virtuosic character. He composed numerous works for violin and orchestra, pieces for solo violin, and chamber music for violin and guitar, as well as other chamber works. In pieces for the G string, like his Sonata Napoleone and Sonata Militare, he experiments with tone colors (harmonics and pizzicato for the left hand).

1782Born in Genoa on October 27, the son of a harbor worker and amateur musician. First musical education from his father, then from professional violinists.
from 1794Concerts in churches and for private audiences. Studies composition in Parma with Paer and Gasparo Ghiretti. He writes a great deal of music for guitar.
1795Performance in Genoa of the Polish violinist Duranowski, who inspires Paganini.
1801–09He lives in Lucca: there in 1805 he becomes first violinist of the city’s Cappella Nazionale.
before 1818Twenty-four Caprices, Op. 1 (published 1820), which inaugurate the genre of the concert etude.
1805–09He composes 45 sonatas.
1810–24First concert tour through Italy.
1813–1815Guitar Quartets, Op. 4 and Op. 5
1816Violin Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major, Op. 6: conventional concerto–sonata form with very virtuosic passages for the solo instrument.
1825–27Second concert tour of Italy.
1826/28Violin Concertos No. 2 (B minor, Op. 7) and No. 3 in E major.
1828–34Spectacular performances in European cities.
1830Publication of a Paganini biography by Julius Schottky. Violin Concertos No. 4 (D minor) and No. 5 (A minor).
1837The long-term establishment in Paris of a concert establishment, the Casino Paganini, fails.
1840Death in Nice on May 27.

© 2003, 2010 Philipp Reclam jun. GmbH & Co. KG, Stuttgart

About the Authors


Ernst Herttrich (Editor)

Dr. Ernst Herttrich, born in 1942 in Würzburg, read musicology, history, German and theology at the universities in Würzburg and Cologne. In 1970 he earned his doctorate in Würzburg with a study of the expression of melancholy in the music of Mozart.

From 1970 to 1990 he was an editor at G. Henle Publishers in Munich, after which he was Head of the Beethoven Complete Edition for over 15 years. In 1999 he took over as Head of the Beethoven-Haus Publishers, and from 2001 was made Head of the Beethoven-Archiv, the research centre at the Beethoven-Haus.

He has been a visiting professor at Meiji Gakuin University in Tokyo and has undertaken several lecture tours both there and to Kyoto. His research interests include source studies, editorial techniques and music history. Herttrich’s publications include “Beethoven. Liederkreis an die ferne Geliebte” (Bonn 1999) and “Ludwig van Beethoven. Biographie in Bildern” (Bonn, 2000). Herttrich has edited over 100 Urtext editions for G. Henle Publishers.

Die vorliegende Ausgabe fußt auf dem Autograph und korrigiert die vielen, die ursprüngliche Intention Paganinis verzerrenden Fehler.

ESTA Nachrichten, 2014



Further editions of this title
Rodolphe Kreutzer 42 Etudes for Violin solo
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1177

€19.00 available

€19.00 available
Further editions of this title

€16.50 available