Search shop:

  • Composer
  • Instrumentation
  • Level of Difficulty
  • Products
Search shop


Terzetto C major op. 74

About the Composer


Antonín Dvorák

With Smetana he is the most famous Czech composer of the nineteenth century, contributing to the dissemination and appreciation of Czech music throughout the world. Among his around 200 works, encompassing all standard genres, are nine symphonies, fourteen string quartets, and twelve operas.

1841Born in Nelahozeves (Mühlhausen) on the Vltava River on September 8, the son of a butcher and innkeeper.
1853Attends the training school in Zlonice; there he receives a comprehensive musical education from Josef Toman and the cantor Antonín Liehmann; subsequent education in Česká Kamenice (1856–57).
1857–59Studies at the organ school in Prague. Until 1871 he will earn his living as a music teacher, organist, and violist.
1861String Quintet No. 1 in A minor, considered his first work.
1862Position as solo violist in the orchestra of the Bohemian Provisional Theater (conducted by Smetana, among others)
1873Breakthrough with the premiere in Prague of his patriotic hymn “The Heirs of the White Mountain,” Op. 30. Employment at the private Prague School of Music. Several state scholarships.
1874–77Organist at St. Adalbert church.
from 1876“Moravian Duets,” Opp. 20, 29, 32, and 38 (1876–77), “Slavonic Rhapsodies,” Op. 45 and the first series of “Slavonic Dances,” Op. 46 (both from 1878) enjoy great success. His fame abroad grows.
1882Premiere of the opera “Dimitrij”, in the tradition of grand opera.
1884First invitation to England, after which eight more will follow.
1886Premiere of his oratorio “Saint Ludmila,” Op. 71.
1891Professor of composition at the Prague Conservatory.
1891–95Director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York.
1893Premiere in New York of Symphony No. 9, “From the New World,” Op. 95 (American folkloric elements, cyclic techniques).
1901Premiere in Prague of his most famous opera, “Rusalka.”
1904Premiere in Prague of his last opera, “Armida.” Death in Prague on May 1.

© 2003, 2010 Philipp Reclam jun. GmbH & Co. KG, Stuttgart

About the Authors


Annette Oppermann (Editor)

Dr. Annette Oppermann, born in 1965, trained as a music dealer in Frankfurt am Main and studied historical and systematic musicology as well as modern German literature at Hamburg University.

From 1993 to 1996 she worked as an editor for Sony Classical International in Hamburg; from 1996 to 1999 she was a doctoral candidate in the postgraduate programme Textkritik at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich, in January 2000 she earned her doctorate with a dissertation on “Musikalische Klassikerausgaben” (Hans-Joachim Marx, Hamburg). From 2000 to 2008 she worked as a research associate at the Joseph Haydn-Institut in Cologne, and was editor of the Oratorio “Die Schöpfung” in the Complete Edition of Joseph Haydn’s Works. Since February 2008 she has been an editor at G. Henle Publishers in Munich, with a particular focus on vocal music, chamber music and books.

Dies ist die für den praktischen Gebrauch geeignetste Ausgabe des Terzetts von Antonín Dvořák! Die Seiten sind vom Herausgeber so eingerichtet, dass man bis zum Ende des zweiten Satzes nicht umblättern muss, das Papier ist von stabiler Qualität und die Taktzahlen sind am Anfang jeder Linie gesetzt und zählen den Auftakt nicht mit. Keine der mir bekannten gedruckten Stimmen erfüllte in den vergangenen fünf Jahrzehnten alle diese Kriterien gleichzeitig. Der knappe Kritische Bericht zu dieser Urtext-Ausgabe zeugt von grosser Sorgfalt. ... Diese Ausgabe erleichtert jetzt auch die Probenarbeit und bannt alle Sorgen beim Umblättern.

Schweizer Musikzeitung, 2019



Joseph Haydn String Trios, Volume I
Editor: Bruce C. MacIntyre
Study score (pocket score), Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 9424

€24.00 available

€24.00 available
Further editions of this title
Joseph Haydn Ser. 14, Vol. 2 | Barytone Trios no. 25-48
Editor: Hubert Unverricht
Complete Edition, critical report, paperbound
HN 5373

€28.00 available

€28.00 available
Further editions of this title
Joseph Haydn Ser. 14. Vol. 3 | Barytone Trios no. 49-72
Editor: Hubert Unverricht
Complete Edition, critical report, paperbound
HN 5383

€25.00 available

€25.00 available
Further editions of this title