Search shop:

  • Composer
  • Instrumentation
  • Level of Difficulty
  • Products
Search shop


60 Variations on Barucabà for Violin and Guitar op. 14

About the Composer


Nicolò Paganini

Violin virtuoso and composer of violin music of a unique and virtuosic character. He composed numerous works for violin and orchestra, pieces for solo violin, and chamber music for violin and guitar, as well as other chamber works. In pieces for the G string, like his Sonata Napoleone and Sonata Militare, he experiments with tone colors (harmonics and pizzicato for the left hand).

1782Born in Genoa on October 27, the son of a harbor worker and amateur musician. First musical education from his father, then from professional violinists.
from 1794Concerts in churches and for private audiences. Studies composition in Parma with Paer and Gasparo Ghiretti. He writes a great deal of music for guitar.
1795Performance in Genoa of the Polish violinist Duranowski, who inspires Paganini.
1801–09He lives in Lucca: there in 1805 he becomes first violinist of the city’s Cappella Nazionale.
before 1818Twenty-four Caprices, Op. 1 (published 1820), which inaugurate the genre of the concert etude.
1805–09He composes 45 sonatas.
1810–24First concert tour through Italy.
1813–1815Guitar Quartets, Op. 4 and Op. 5
1816Violin Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major, Op. 6: conventional concerto–sonata form with very virtuosic passages for the solo instrument.
1825–27Second concert tour of Italy.
1826/28Violin Concertos No. 2 (B minor, Op. 7) and No. 3 in E major.
1828–34Spectacular performances in European cities.
1830Publication of a Paganini biography by Julius Schottky. Violin Concertos No. 4 (D minor) and No. 5 (A minor).
1837The long-term establishment in Paris of a concert establishment, the Casino Paganini, fails.
1840Death in Nice on May 27.

© 2003, 2010 Philipp Reclam jun. GmbH & Co. KG, Stuttgart



Nicolò Paganini 24 Capricci op. 1
Editor, Fingering and bowing for Violin: Renato de Barbieri
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 450

€40.50 available

€40.50 available
Further editions of this title
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Six Children's Pieces op. 72
Editor: Christa Jost
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 914

€12.00 available

€12.00 available
Further editions of this title