Search shop:

  • Composer
  • Instrumentation
  • Level of Difficulty
  • Products
Search shop


Allegro B flat major
Andante D major
Fuga e minor
Fuga f minor
Fughetta A major
Postlude D major


In publishing this volume it was not the editor’s intention to present a complete edition of Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy’s works for organ apart from his series of organ sonatas. Instead, only the major works of his mature years have been included. Mendelssohn apparently took Handel rather than Bach as his guide when writing his polyphonic keyboard works. The parts frequen... more


About the Composer


Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

A German composer, conductor, pianist, and organist who already numbered among the most important composers in Europe during his lifetime. While still young he found a unique tonal language. Reflected in his oeuvre, which spans all genres, are the contradictory tendencies of the age – Classicism and Romanticism. His endeavors over the course his life to perform the works of Johann Sebastian Bach led to a “rediscovery” of that composer which continues unabated. His intensive engagement with Bach and his counterpoint influenced his own compositional technique.

1809Born into a wealthy banker’s family in Hamburg on February 3. Escape to Berlin with his parents in 1811. First musical instruction from his mother.
1819He becomes a pupil of Carl Friedrich Zelter.
1820Joins the Sing-Akademie in Berlin.
1821–23Twelve sinfonias for strings.
1825String Octet in E-flat major, Op. 20.
1826Overture to “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” Op. 21
1827Begins studies at the University of Berlin.
1829Revival of Bach’s St. Matthew Passion in Berlin on March 11 and 21. Travels to England and Scotland.
1829–30“Reformation” Symphony in D minor, [Op. 107], with inclusion of the choral “Ein feste Burg“ (A Mighty Fortress Is Our God.)
1830–32Extended travels, including to Italy and France. Piano Concerto in G minor, Op. 25; Overture in B minor, Op. 26, “The Hebrides, or Fingal’s Cave” (1829–30).
1833Music director in Düsseldorf. “Italian” Symphony in A major, Op. 90 (1830–33).
1835Director of the Gewandhaus concerts in Leipzig.
1836Premiere in Düsseldorf of his oratorio “St. Paul: Oratorio on Words of the Holy Bible,” Op. 36.
1838-44Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64.
1840Composition of “Hymn of Praise, a Symphony-Cantata on Words of the Holy Bible,” Op. 52.
1841Berlin, in the service of the Prussian king. “Variations sérieuses” in D minor, Op. 54, for piano.
1842Completion of Symphony No. 3 (“Scottish”) in A minor, Op. 56, with a songlike opening.
1843Incidental music to Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” Op. 61. Director of the newly founded Leipzig Conservatory.
1846Premiere of his oratorio “Elijah,” Op. 70, in Birmingham.
1847String Quartet in F minor, [Op. 80]. Death in Leipzig on November 4.

© 2003, 2010 Philipp Reclam jun. GmbH & Co. KG, Stuttgart

About the Authors


Wolfgang Stockmeier (Editor, Fingering)

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Stockmeier, born in 1931 in Essen, studied church music, school music, composition, musicology, German and philosophy in Cologne. In 1957 he did his doctorate and from 1957–1960 he worked in higher education in Essen, then as a head of department at the state teacher training college, before taking on a position as professor for organ, improvisation and composition at the music conservatory in Cologne until 1994. At the same time he was a lecturer at the University of Cologne and at the state church music schools in Düsseldorf and Herford for many years. In 1974 he became Head of the Institute for Protestant Church Music. From 1990 he was also pro-rector at the conservatory.

His international concerts lectures and jury activities have taken him to the USA and East Asia. He was awarded the “Deutscher Schallplattenpreis” for two of his recordings of organ music, of which he has made over 150. In addition to his work as an editor, he has published numerous compositions: four oratorios, three symphonies, an opera, (libretto by Gabriele Wohmann), twelve organ sonatas, three piano sonatas, as well as chamber music works and motets. Wolfgang Stockmeier died on 11 December 2015.