Search shop:

  • Composer
  • Instrumentation
  • Level of Difficulty
  • Products
Search shop


Six Duets op. 23

About the Composer


Ignaz Pleyel

A composer, piano builder, and music publisher. With his 41 symphonies, around 80 string quartets, six symphonies concertantes, piano trios, and two operas (among other works) he left behind an extensive oeuvre. During his lifetime he made a name for himself as a music publisher, while the innovative instruments of the Pleyel piano manufacturing company were valued by figures such as Chopin and Rossini.

1757Born in Ruppersthal near Vienna on June 18. He received his earliest musical education in Vienna from Johann Baptist Vanhal.
around 1772Count Ladislaus Erdődy provides financial patronage for five years of study with Joseph Haydn, as well as for lodging in Haydn’s home. An amicable relationship develops between Haydn and Pleyel.
around 1780He tours through Italy. For King Ferdinand IV of Naples he composes works for lira organizzata.
1785On May 30, his opera “Ifigenia in Aulide” is premiered at the Teatro di San Carlo in Naples. He becomes music director at Strasbourg Cathedral.
1787–95Most of his works are composed in Strasbourg. With the music director of the Temple Neuf, Johann Philipp Schönfeld, he inaugurates the Concerts Pleyel-Schönfeld.
1791–92Following the invitation of Wilhelm Cramer to go to London, he becomes director of the Professional Concerts there. This enables performance of twelve of his own symphonies.
after 1796He founds a music publishing house in Paris with his brother-in-law Jean-Daniel Schäffer, and publishes some 4,000 works by important contemporaries such as Ludwig van Beethoven, Joseph Haydn, and Muzio Clementi.
1807He founds the piano manufacturer Pleyel et Cie.
1824His son Camille takes over the company.
1831Dies in Paris on November 14.

About the Authors


Norbert Gertsch (Editor)

Dr. Norbert Gertsch, born in 1967 in Rheinkamp/Moers, studied piano solo at the Mozarteum in Salzburg and read musicology and philosophy at the Paris Lodron University in Salzburg and the Ruperto Carola University Heidelberg on a scholarship from the “Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes”. In 1996 he wrote his doctoral thesis on Ludwig van Beethoven’s Missa solemnis (as part of the New Complete Edition) under Ludwig Finscher.

In the following year, he began to work at G. Henle Publishers, initially as an editor for electronic publishing. After working on a two-year project (1999–2000) sponsored by the German Research Foundation (DFG) preparing a new Beethoven Catalogue of Works, he became a scholarly editor at G. Henle Publishers. In 2003 he became Editor-in-Chief, in 2009 Deputy Managing Director and Head of Publishing. As of 1 January 2024, the Executive Board of the Günter Henle Foundation has appointed Dr. Norbert Gertsch, as the new managing director, succeeding Dr. Wolf-Dieter Seiffert.

Gertsch has published many Urtext editions for G. Henle Publishers, including volumes for a new edition of Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas together with Murray Perahia.