Search shop:

  • Composer
  • Instrumentation
  • Level of Difficulty
  • Products
Search shop


Difficulty (Explanation)
Other titles of this difficulty
Six Sonatas for Violin solo op. 27
Sonata no. 1 op. 27
8 difficult
Sonata no. 2 op. 27
7 difficult
Sonata no. 3 op. 27
7 difficult
Sonata no. 4 op. 27
7 difficult
Sonata no. 5 op. 27
9 difficult


Eugène Ysaÿe (1858–1931) occupies a towering and exceptional position in the history of musical performance, but this worked more to the detriment than to the benefit of his compositional oeuvre. Like his sometime partner on the piano, Ferruccio Busoni, he scaled new heights on the violin but showed hardly any concern for the dissemination of his own music. This situation ... more


About the Composer


Eugène Ysaÿe

A Belgian violinist, conductor, and composer, whose virtuosic playing, rich in tone color, significantly influences generations of violinists. His late-Romantic compositions, of which only a few survive, comprise instrumental and chamber music works.

1858Born in Liège on July 16. He receives his first violin lessons from his father.
1865–69At the Brussels Conservatory he studies violin with Désiré Heynberg.
from 1869Concert tours with his father take him through Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, and France, where he performs as a prodigy.
1872He continues his studies with Rodolphe Massatt.
from 1874In Brussels he is a pupil of Henri Vieuxtemps and Henryk Wieniawski.
1876–79He follows Vieuxtemps to Paris, where among others he meets César Franck, Anton Rubinstein, and Raoul Pugno.
1879–82He is concertmaster of the Bilse Orchestra in Berlin. He meets Clara Schumann and Joseph Joachim.
1882Together with Rubinstein he sets out on a concert tour through Russia and Scandinavia.
from 1883In Paris he rises to becomes a well-regarded interpreter and frequent dedicatee of all of France’s great composers, including Claude Debussy, Gabriel Fauré, Ernest Chausson, and Camille Saint-Saëns.
1886–97He teaches at the Royal Conservatoire in Brussels and gives concerts regularly, including with Enrique Granados, Ferruccio Busoni, and Sergei Rachmaninoff.
1912Appointed court music director and Grand Officier de l’Ordre de Léopold.
1917–22He emigrates to the United States, leads the Cincinnati Orchestra, and teaches at the conservatory in that city.
1922–30Back in Belgium, he undertakes a few more concert tours.
1931Dies in Brussels on May 12.

About the Authors


Norbert Gertsch (Editor)

Dr. Norbert Gertsch, born in 1967 in Rheinkamp/Moers, studied piano solo at the Mozarteum in Salzburg and read musicology and philosophy at the Paris Lodron University in Salzburg and the Ruperto Carola University Heidelberg on a scholarship from the “Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes”. In 1996 he wrote his doctoral thesis on Ludwig van Beethoven’s Missa solemnis (as part of the New Complete Edition) under Ludwig Finscher.

In the following year, he began to work at G. Henle Publishers, initially as an editor for electronic publishing. After working on a two-year project (1999–2000) sponsored by the German Research Foundation (DFG) preparing a new Beethoven Catalogue of Works, he became a scholarly editor at G. Henle Publishers. In 2003 he became Editor-in-Chief, in 2009 Deputy Managing Director and Head of Publishing. As of 1 January 2024, the Executive Board of the Günter Henle Foundation has appointed Dr. Norbert Gertsch, as the new managing director, succeeding Dr. Wolf-Dieter Seiffert.

Gertsch has published many Urtext editions for G. Henle Publishers, including volumes for a new edition of Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas together with Murray Perahia.

Ysaÿe hätte sich sicher gefreut, dass ein solch kompetenter Interpret dieser Stücke, wie F. P. Zimmermann sich mit der Neuausgabe beschäftigt hat. In der ersten Ausgabe, die zwar von Ysaÿe freigegeben war, waren spätere Korrekturen von ihm nicht mehr berücksichtigt; dies ist jetzt nachgeholt … Sehr dankbar für die Henle-Ausgabe sind alle Geiger, die nicht beim ersten Lesen schon alles auswendig behalten können, über die eingeklappten dritten Seiten, die einem das Wenden unterwegs, mitten in der Musik, ersparen.

ESTA–Nachrichten, 2004



Further editions of this title
Jakob Dont Études et Caprices for Violin solo op. 35
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1175

$18.95 available

$18.95 available
Further editions of this title